BOILER MANUFACTURERS ASSOCIATION SPECIALTY CONTRACTORS NTD EMPLOYERS ASSOCIATION

JEFF HINES

J. JACOB SNYDER Enerfab SPECIALTY CONTRACTORS

LYNDAL TURNER Nooter Construction Co. NTD EMPLOYERS ASSOC





INTERNATIONAL BROTHERHOOD OF BOILERMAKERS • IRON SHIP BUILDERS BLACKSMITHS • FORGERS & HELPERS

> JOHN T. FULTZ Intl. Broth. of Boilermakers

LARRY MCMANAMON Intl. Broth. of Boilermakers

TIMOTHY SIMMONS Intl. Broth. of Boilermakers SECRETARY (913) 371-2640

NATIONAL JOINT RULES AND STANDARDS COMMITTEE

753 State Ave., Suite 570

Kansas City, KS 66101

March 23, 2018

File: 6.3 NJRS Corres.

TO: All U.S. CSO District and Lodge Business Managers

RE: Clarification of Referral Protocol

Gentlemen and Brothers:

In an effort to reinforce the past practices of International Brotherhood of Boilermakers and the National Association of Construction Boilermaker Employers on combating manpower shortages of skilled labor nationwide and to confirm the referral/selectivity language of many collective bargaining agreements, the National Joint Rules and Standards Committee has voted on and approved to clarify its position on the authority of modifying the referral protocol, as follows:

"The International Vice-President and Chairman of the Employer Negotiating Committee have and have had the authority to change the referral protocol, within the geographical jurisdiction of their authority. Any such changes shall be effective, unless rejected by the National Joint Referral Committee as being contrary the spirit and intent of the Uniform Referral Standards and Joint Referral Rules."

You are reminded of the posting requirements as set forth in Articles 2.3 and 8.4 of these Rules. Please post this notice on the Local Lodge bulletin board, website, job site location and/or facility where the Uniform Referral Standards and Joint Referral Rules are displayed. In addition, please take the necessary steps to inform all referral applicants of this clarification.

Please contact me with any questions.

Sincerely

Timothy Simmons Secretary, NJRSC

Cc: N.B. Jones, IP

All IVP's T. Brown, AAIP

M. Vandiver, SAIP, AD-AAIP, ED-CSO

G. Forkin, AD-CSO, AIP, ED-QCCUS

M. Stanton, AD-CSO, AIP, D-JS-CSO J. Hughes, AD-CSO, AIP, D-NTS-CSO

M. West, AD-CSO, D-NTDS

All CSO Reps

C. Smith, D-ITS-IPO

E. Jasinski, SE/A

D. Branscum, MOST

R. Traxler, NACBE

NJRSC

M. Stapp, General Council